Try it now, capture a real invoice
Your file is used only for this demo and deleted automatically within hours.
Short answer. Accounts payable imaging software turns paper and emailed invoices into stored, indexed images linked to the vendor and the bill, so nobody pulls a file drawer to answer an auditor. Of the eight imaging and capture vendors we checked on their own websites, only Laserfiche publishes per-user list prices and DocuWare publishes a price range; the rest are quote only. If what you actually need is data entry gone, not just a digital filing cabinet, look at AP automation, where AutoPayables publishes $49 and $149 monthly plans.
What accounts payable imaging software does today
Classic AP imaging, the kind sold in the 2000s, did three jobs: scan the invoice, index it with a few keyed fields (vendor, invoice number, amount), and file the image so it could be retrieved from the accounting record later. Approval often still happened on paper or in email. That is why a lot of controllers still searching for "AP imaging" are really describing a scanner, a document repository and a stamp.
The category has since split in two. Document management platforms such as Laserfiche, DocuWare, Hyland OnBase, Square 9 and Epicor ECM sell imaging plus workflow and charge per user, often with professional services on top. AP automation tools skip the filing-cabinet framing entirely: the invoice arrives by email, AI reads the header and line items, the bill is checked against the PO and for duplicates, and the image is simply attached to the bill record. If your team spends its time keying invoices rather than finding them, the second group is the one to shortlist.
Accounts payable imaging software vendors compared
Every fact below comes from the vendor's own website as checked in October 2026. Where a vendor page did not state something, the table says so rather than guessing.
| Vendor | Published pricing | Deployment | Capture and matching | Systems named |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Laserfiche | Professional $73 per user per month from 5 users; Business $93 per user per month from 25 users; services and implementation extra | Cloud or self-hosted | Line-item extraction, handwriting recognition, PO matching | None named on the pages we read |
| DocuWare | States $30 to $125+ per user per month for Cloud; invoice solution no extra charge on top; on-premises is a perpetual license with about 20% yearly support | Cloud or on-premises | OCR with AI for paper, email or XML; 3-way and multi-way matching | SAP, Oracle, QuickBooks, "500+ applications" |
| Hyland OnBase | Quote only ("Request a demo") | Cloud-native per Hyland | Email, mail and EDI intake with OCR; AI capture via Hyland IDP | "Integrate any ERP"; Workday, SAP and Lawson overviews |
| Square 9 | Quote only; three packages in a downloadable brochure; services extra | Cloud or on-premises | AI capture that classifies, routes and extracts; invoice matching | QuickBooks, Dynamics 365, SAP |
| Tungsten Automation AP Essentials (formerly Kofax) | Quote only ("Request Demo") | Cloud | Paper, PDF, email, EDI and portals; machine learning line-item extraction; 2-way and 3-way line matching | Business Central, Dynamics 365 F&O, Oracle, NetSuite, Coupa |
| Epicor ECM (formerly DocStar) | Not published | SaaS, hosted or on-premises | Intelligent data capture; 2-way and 3-way matching | Epicor, Dynamics, Sage, Oracle, SAP, Infor, Prophet 21 |
| M-Files | Not published | Not stated for AP | No first-party AP page; AP comes from partner add-ons in its catalog | Depends on the add-on |
| PerfectLaw A/P Imaging | Not published | Module of the PerfectLaw suite | Batch scanning of invoices and signed checks, linked to vendors, matters and clients; no OCR claim | PerfectLaw only (law firms) |
| AutoPayables | Growth $49 a month for 200 invoices; Scale $149 unlimited; try it on your first 20 invoices | Cloud | Email or upload intake; AI reads header and line items; 2-way and 3-way PO matching; three duplicate checks | Exports to QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite and Sage |
How much does accounts payable imaging software cost?
Accounts payable imaging software from document management vendors usually costs $30 to $125 per user per month before implementation, based on the two vendors that publish numbers. Laserfiche's entry tier works out to $4,375 a year at its five-user minimum, and its Business tier to about $27,875 a year at 25 users, both before services.
Per-user pricing is the detail to model carefully. An AP team of three with eight approvers is an eleven-user problem in a per-seat system, because approvers need a login to see the image. Square 9 and Laserfiche both note that professional services and implementation are excluded from the price, and DocuWare's on-premises license carries yearly support of roughly a fifth of the license value from the second year. Ask every quote-only vendor for the same three numbers: per-user or per-invoice price, the implementation fee, and the renewal uplift.
AP automation is usually priced by invoice volume instead. AutoPayables charges $49 a month for up to 200 invoices and $149 for unlimited, which is easier to budget when the approver list is long and the invoice count is modest. Our AP automation pricing comparison lists what other AP vendors publish.
Do you need imaging, or do you need AP automation?
You need a document management platform if the invoices are one document type among many: contracts, HR files, legal records and AP all in one governed repository with retention rules. That is the buyer the 2012 thread on Proformative was describing, someone who wanted AP, contract and legal documents searchable from offices in several countries, and the answers pointed at OnBase and similar suites. It is still the right answer for that brief.
You need AP automation if the pain is the work between the invoice arriving and the bill being paid. The signs are specific: someone keys every invoice into QuickBooks or an ERP, approvals are chased by email, a duplicate got paid last year, and nobody can say what is due on Friday. An image archive fixes none of those. Capture that reads the line items, a 3-way invoice matching check against the PO and receipt, and an approval log do.
A practical test: count the hours your team spent last month searching for invoice images versus entering and chasing them. If searching wins, buy imaging. If entering and chasing wins, which it does for nearly every team under a few thousand invoices a month, buy automation and treat the stored image as a by-product.
Vendor notes for US buyers
Laserfiche
The only vendor in the group with list prices on a public page, which makes it the easiest to budget. Its accounting pages mention line-item extraction, handwriting recognition and PO matching. Its Business+ tier at $42 per user per month starts at 500 users, so it is an enterprise number, not a small business one.
DocuWare
DocuWare states a $30 to $125+ per-user monthly range and says the invoice processing solution adds nothing on top of the Cloud subscription. It claims 3-way and multi-way matching and names SAP, Oracle and QuickBooks, and says it can be "up and running in just a few days".
Hyland OnBase
The name most often recommended in older forum threads. Hyland now describes its AP offering as cloud-native, with intake by email, mail and EDI and approvals from Outlook or mobile. Pricing is by demo and quote, and it fits companies already running OnBase for other departments.
Square 9, Tungsten and Epicor ECM
Square 9 sells three packages through a pricing brochure and says it can be implemented "in as few as weeks". Tungsten AP Essentials is the most AP-specific of the imaging heritage tools, with machine learning line-item extraction and line-level 2-way and 3-way matching. Epicor ECM, formerly DocStar, makes the most sense if you run Epicor Kinetic or Prophet 21.
Where AutoPayables fits, and where it does not
AutoPayables is AP automation, not a document management system. Invoices arrive at a private email address or by upload, AI reads the vendor, invoice number, PO number, dates, totals and line items, and every bill keeps its original PDF attached. Bills are checked against purchase orders with a tolerance you set, held if they look like duplicates, and approved above a dollar threshold with the decision logged. Approved bills export to your accounting system, and payment runs produce a NACHA ACH file, check PDFs and a positive pay file for your bank. The accounts payable tracking software dashboard then shows what is due, overdue and waiting on an approver.
What it does not do: it is not a records repository for contracts or HR files, it does not apply retention schedules, and approval is a single threshold rather than multi-level routing. If you also need to pull fields out of contracts, statements or forms that are not vendor invoices, a general document data extraction tool is the better fit for that part of the archive. For invoice capture specifically, see invoice data capture and OCR and invoice approval software.
Questions buyers ask
Is AP imaging the same as AP automation?
No. AP imaging scans and stores invoice images and links them to the accounting record. AP automation reads the invoice data, checks it against the PO and for duplicates, routes it for approval and prepares payment, with the image stored as part of the bill. Most modern imaging suites now add some automation, usually at extra cost.
Which accounts payable imaging software publishes pricing?
Among the vendors we checked, Laserfiche publishes per-user list prices and DocuWare publishes a per-user range. Hyland OnBase, Square 9, Tungsten AP Essentials, Epicor ECM, M-Files and PerfectLaw do not publish AP pricing. AutoPayables publishes $49 and $149 monthly plans.
Can AP imaging software work with QuickBooks?
Some can. DocuWare and Square 9 both name QuickBooks on their own sites. AutoPayables exports approved bills to QuickBooks Online, along with Xero, NetSuite and Sage, so QuickBooks stays the ledger while capture and approval happen before the bill is posted.
Do I still need a scanner?
Only for invoices that still arrive on paper. Most US vendors now email PDFs, and those can be forwarded straight into an AP tool without printing or scanning. Keep a desktop scanner for the remaining paper, and send the scans the same way.
Stop keying invoices by hand
AutoPayables captures vendor, amounts and dates from any invoice with AI, applies spend-threshold approval, and keeps a full audit trail. Accounting sync pushes approved bills to your general ledger.
Keep reading
Accounts Payable Automation Vendors for Mid-Market, Compared
Accounts payable automation vendors for mid-market teams, sorted by invoice volume and ERP, with published prices, where each is weak and what to ask in a demo.
Accounts Payable Software for QuickBooks With 6 Options Compared
Accounts payable software for QuickBooks compared: BILL, Melio, Ramp, Stampli, QuickBooks Bill Pay and capture-only tools, with real prices and fit.
Accounts Payable Software Implementation Roadmap and Steps
How long an accounts payable automation implementation really takes, the seven steps of the project, what internal time it costs, and why most rollouts slip.
Accounts Payable Outsourcing Cost and 2026 Pricing Breakdown
What AP outsourcing actually costs in 2026: per-invoice and FTE pricing, the fees that hide behind the headline rate, and how it compares to automation.